top of page
  • Writer's pictureHawai'i House Democrats


Honolulu, Hawaiʻi – The Oʻahu Metropolitan Planning Organization (OahuMPO) is pleased to announce that House Representative Darius K. Kila has been elected to serve a two-year term as Chair of the Policy Board.


Functioning as the designated metropolitan planning organization for the island of Oʻahu, OahuMPO operates under the governance of the Policy Board, which serves as the official decision-making body responsible for determining which transportation projects on the island of Oʻahu receive federal funding.


"The opportunity to assume the role of Chair of the Policy Board is a responsibility I do not take lightly. As a lifelong resident of the Leeward Coast, it is undeniable that traffic is one of the prominent issues our community faces. Being able to represent my community and serve as a voice at the decision-making table, while advocating for projects that will benefit all Oʻahu residents remains my priority," said Darius K. Kila (D-44, Honokai Hale, Nānākuli, Mā‘ili).


OahuMPO Executive Director Mark Garrity says, “I would like to congratulate Representative Kila on his election to Policy Board Chair and look forward to working with him as we continue to develop a transportation system on Oʻahu that is safe, reliable, and affordable for everyone."


The OahuMPO Policy Board meets at 1:00 p.m. on the last Tuesday of every month via Zoom. Meeting notices are posted on the OahuMPO Calendar as well as on the State of Hawaii Public Meetings & Events Calendar. The current Policy Board Chair is State Representative Darius K. Kila and the Vice Chair is City Councilmember Val Okimoto.


The voting members of the Policy Board include two State Senators, two State Representatives, three City Councilmembers, the Hawaiʻi Department of Transportation Director, the City Department of Transportation Services Director, the City Department of Planning and Permitting Director, and the Honolulu Authority for Rapid Transportation Director. The non-voting members include the Administrator of the Federal Highway Administration Hawaiʻi Division Office, the Director of the State Department of Health, and the Director of the State Office of Planning.


For more information on OahuMPO, visit





bottom of page